Gift For a Teacher

I found this cute pattern on Ravelry, but decided to crochet it instead of knitting and made it up as I went along.

The yarn is from my stash. It is a superwash wool in worsted weight, but I do not remember the brand.

I think, I will gift this in a brown paper bag. Fitting, no? It is for the same teacher who lent me her spinning wheel. I believe, she will appreciate it.  

Here is how I did it:

I started out with a small ring of 5 slip stitches that I increased with single crochet (increasing every stitch) until I had a disk 12 sts around. I placed a marker to show the beginning of a round. Then I increased 4 sts * every round until I had 60 sts. After that I went straight for 2 rows,  crocheting back and forth from this point to create an opening. In the following rows I decreased 4 stitches every other row.  When I had only 12 stitches left, I crocheted a small loop and cast off. 

The stem I made with 5 slip stitches, turned and then stitched 1 single crochet into every loop. For the leaf I made 3 slip stitches, crocheted in single crochet 2 rounds, increased to 6 sts the next round, continued straight for a few rounds and decreased until I had 1 stitch left. 

The embroidery is a simple back stitch. I folded the leaf in the middle lengthwise and stitched it together in the end to give it more shape before I attached it to the apple.

* stitch 3 increase 1, repeat ;  next row: stitch 4 increase 1, repeat;  next row: stitch 5 increase 1, repeat  etc. 

19 Responses to “Gift For a Teacher”


  1. 1 cathy g June 28, 2008 at 8:48 am

    that is a neat idea as a gift! I end up wrapping my apple and other fruit I take to work for lunch in a tea towel to protect it. this is much nicer!

  2. 2 sunnysideellen June 28, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    I can tell you, that the recipient liked it a lot!
    I am not sure how practical it really is, but it is cute for sure.

  3. 3 Susann June 29, 2008 at 12:03 am

    What a wonderful idea!
    And I find your apple cozy really cute, but not too much sugar ;-))

    Thank you for sharing!

  4. 4 suki June 29, 2008 at 7:54 am

    Thank you for the pattern, I’ve always thought that the knit ones were so cute but I can’t knit.
    I think it would also look quite cute stuffed (it would be easy to adapt).

  5. 5 Leslie June 30, 2008 at 4:58 am

    I’m so grateful for this pattern. I have drooled over the knitting one for ages, but just cannot knit on 4 needles (one is always slipping out into my lap threatening to impale me). Yee haw!

  6. 6 sunnysideellen June 30, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Thank you! I find it much easier to crochet small items than knitting them, too.

    The crocheted fabric is thicker, but it is also less stretchy…

  7. 7 Linda November 6, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    this is great! i just started crocheting, so i was wondering how you make the opening. i only know how to do rounds so far…

  8. 8 sunnysideellen November 7, 2008 at 10:00 am

    Hi Linda,

    you just stop wherever you want your opening, Ch 1 to get height and turn your work. Then you go back into the same stitches you just worked on leaving out the first stitch. You go back and forth. First the outside of the apple is facing you and then the inside.
    I also found this website with tutorials:

    http://www.nexstitch.com/v_turning.html

    Have fun!

  9. 9 Lisa December 8, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    what size hook are you using?? i love this pattern and i can’t knit worth a darn, it is so hard to find crochet patterns that are updated!! Thanks for this cute idea, a christmas gift for sure!!!

  10. 10 sunnysideellen December 8, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Oh, Lisa, you caught me there… Uhem, I do not remember… I would try a G hook.
    Thank you!

  11. 11 sandrar September 10, 2009 at 5:43 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

  12. 13 Omaara July 8, 2010 at 8:09 am

    I loved this idea for a gift for my son’s teacher and once I started, I could not stop till it was all finished. It’s fabulous. I’m planning on embellishing the leaves with glass tube beads then sewing on eyes the embroidering a smiley mouth. Thanks so much!

  13. 15 mhairi September 4, 2010 at 11:56 am

    Hi there! Found this pattern (so nice to see it in crochet) and whipped it up quickly! :)

    Would you mind if I shared it on Ravelry.com so others can try it out too? I searched on there first and there were many to buy, and mostly for knitters. I know the crochet’ers would love it too! :)

    Great simple instructions :)

  14. 17 Linda September 7, 2010 at 11:04 am

    nice one!
    don’t try it with tomatoes :D

  15. 19 derzafanistori March 15, 2013 at 5:05 am

    Wonderful idea. Thank you for the pattern! :)


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers