Waking up to Stars

Sweat Stars

I hope you had a good start into the New Year. I took time for a little experiment. Remember when I made star-shaped buns? I wanted to make them again, but this time using a sweat yeast dough. I used my standard recipe:

4 cups of flour

1 1/2 teaspoon yeast

2 Tbsp sugar

2 Tbsp butter

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 cup water

1/2 cup milk or buttermilk

I have noticed that buttermilk is a bit harder to find at the grocery store, but it tastes really good in this recipe. This is the same recipe I use when I make toast.

After letting the dough rise I divided it into 4 oz (110g) portions. I shaped them into round rolls and let them relax for about 10 minutes. After that I proceeded as in the original recipe except I dipped the dough into milk and dusted them cinnamon sugar. The cinnamon sugar barely made an appearance in the finished bun, so maybe I should use more or leave it out.

All in all I liked my little star buns. I thought they were pretty, tasted good and again they fit nicely into the toaster. Surprisingly my son said he liked the heartier version better. And my youngest daughter asked for bagels…

2 Responses to “Waking up to Stars”


  1. 1 a reader January 5, 2013 at 12:40 pm

    So glad you’re back. I really want to try the star buns. Happy new year!


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers