A Special Treat: Apple Spice Bread

Apple Spice Bread

When the weather turns colder I love to eat fruit cake. Admittedly I have never had the traditional English style fruit cake, but I love the German and Swiss fruit cakes of my childhood. Usually these fruit cakes take a while to make and some ingredients are a bit hard to find.

Recently I found a recipe for Apple Bread that I had never tried out. I had all the ingredients on hand and started right away. It was easy to make and tastes delicious. I enjoy a slice with a bit of butter spread on. Unfortunately it is not a quick recipe, because the apples have to soak in the sugar for a few hours.

The recipe is vegan and I think it could be a good candidate for using a gluten-free flour as well.

Here it is:

Apple Spice Bread

750g apples

200g sugar

250g raisins

150g  whole hazelnuts, cashews or almonds

1 Tbsp cocoa powder

2 Tbsp rum (optional)

1 Tbsp cinnamon

1 1/2 tsp. anise seeds

1/8 tsp. ground cloves

a dash of salt

500g all purpose flour

4 tsp baking powder

Peel, core and grate the apples. Combine with the sugar and let stand for about 2 hours.

Preheat oven to 200 C ( 400 F). Grease a rectangular loaf pan.

Add the raisins, nuts and spices to the apples. In a separate bowl mix the flour and baking powder. Add the flour to the apple mixture and stir until well combined. You can do this by hand.

Bake for about 60 minutes.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “A Special Treat: Apple Spice Bread”


  1. 1 Saralee September 20, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    I am not familiar with grams. Could you give me cups? Sounds like a very tasty recipe! Thanks

    • 2 sunnysideellen September 30, 2013 at 6:28 pm

      Yes, the Apple Spice Bread is very tasty. If you bake a lot I would really recommend getting a scale. It will give you better results. I bet you can find a digital one for $20 to $30. Here is a website that tells you how to convert grams to cups:

      http://allrecipes.com/howto/cup-to-gram-conversions/

      So, the recipe calls for a bit more than 1 1/2 pounds of apples, 1 cup of sugar and a little bit less than 4 cups of flour. I just weighed and measured out the hazelnuts and raisins and I would say 250g of raisins are about 1 3/4 cups and 150g hazelnuts are about 1 1/3 cup. I hope you like it!


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 426 other followers