Macarons: Well Worth the Effort

Macarons

 

Macarons are everybody’s darling at the moment and I wanted to make them too. I am so glad I did.

There are two different methods making them: French or Italian. The French method beats all the egg whites with the sugar until stiff peaks form. Then you combine it with almond meal and powdered sugar mixture. The Italian method is a lot more work. You add half the egg whites to the almond meal and powdered sugar mix. Then you cook the sugar to a syrup, beat the egg whites to soft peaks and add the syrup slowly. After that you beat it until stiff peaks form and combine it with the almond meal mix.

I have tried both methods, but had more success with the Italian method; by more success I mean no cracked shells. Here I used the recipe from the Bouchon Bakery book.

I have filled them with a dark chocolate ganache or Nutella in a pinch. I like the ganache better, because the slight bitterness of the chocolate offers a nice contrast to the sweetness of the Macaron.

Anyway, Macarons taste amazing. I love the crunchy texture with the soft centre. I highly recommend you give them a try.

Here you can find detailed instructions and the recipe for the Italian method.

And here for the French method. Good luck and enjoy!

 

Chicklets and Macaron

5 Responses to “Macarons: Well Worth the Effort”


  1. 1 everybodylovespretty April 17, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    They look amazing!! I love your little chicks in the last picture! So cute :)


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 416 other followers