2 Steps Forward, 1 Step Back

blog310107-002_edited.jpg

This is my finished little hat. I must say, I like it. It has a nice fit and it will keep me warm. The pattern is the Rescue Hat from the Yarn Harlot’s book Knitting Rules, the yarn is my own sport weight dyed in Cobalt.

I have to say, that I do not like to knit Garter Stitch very much. I knit continental style, I am usually quite fast and do not have to look much. But in Garter Stitch the stitches seem to be a little bit more turned to the left (they want to be purled), so that sometimes I do not quite catch them. Hmmm….

After finishing the hat I picked up the Pie Shawl and realized that my latest rows looked different. I have very little experience with lace knitting and I think I must have picked up the wrong strand for “M1”. It was a mistake to have put it aside for a while.

I frogged the part that I did wrong, but I am not sure I have the correct stitches on my needle and that I can save it. I also do not like the cast-on edge. It should be stretchier. So should I frog the whole thing? Probably! Stay tuned to find out….  

