Who Would Have Thought?

I was at Canadian Tire the other day to buy another huge pot for my dyeing. At the checkout I noticed that it had started to snow. The snowflakes were huge. It looked liked somebody had opened up a feather pillow case.

I made a comment to my daughter about it and the man standing next to me in line said:”And they said it is going to be 6 inches!” I looked at him really astonished and said:”Really?” At that point he started laughing and I felt a bit foolish for believing him.

Imagine my surprise when I woke up next day to everything being covered with at least 6 inches of snow! And no, they did not cancel school….

I also made some bread. The recipe is called “Vermont Sourdough” (p. 153, Bread book). For this you have to raise a liquid levain culture for 5 to 6 days. Then you take  2 tablespoons of that to make the levain build. You let that sit overnight, add the rest of the ingredients  and have a very flavourful bread some time that day. I have taken 2 tablespoons of the sourdough culture away and put it in the fridge. I hope it won’t mind this rude treatment and can be revived the next time I need it!

I am very sorry, I must have lost the picture of my bread. That is a pitty, I have used my bread rising basket….

