So Here It Is

I have been knitting for a while now on this red vest. I have not posted about it, because my progress has been so slow. (Also because I am not sure, that it is going to work out….) It is knitted in one piece bottom up and I am now almost at the armholes.

I am knitting the Provincial Waiscoast from the Interweave Knits Winter 2006 edition, that is I am knitting the shape, but in a completely different stitch pattern.

I love, love the shape of the Waistcoast, but I do not like the bulk of all these different patterns. I am using the Lacy Knots pattern and you can find it on the cover of the Vogue Knitting Spring 2007 issue. I have found a yarn that has the same gauge as the Waiscoast calls for, so that I keep up with the same amount of stitches, just that I often place the decreases somewhere else.

The yarn that I am using is Tuffy by Briggs and Little. It makes me smile every time I use it. It has the straight of the sheep feeling (and faint smell). It is very sturdy and slightly scratchy, which is fine for a vest. The colour is a tweedy deep red.

I have several more ideas, what I would like to do with that vest and I hope, it will all come together in the end. So this is how the back looks, unblocked and all:

blog080507-014_edited.jpg

One thought on “So Here It Is

  1. missharleyquinn says:

    It’s gorgeous! I like the duck tape sewing form too. I haven’t left scarfopolis as of yet…but am getting a hankering to knit something that doesn’t go around my neck. 🙂

Comments are closed.