Sewing For Children


If you like to sew for children, there is a magazine, that I highly recommend. It is from Finland and called Ottobre. I have managed to get one copy at an independent bookstore while traveling in Kelowna, BC, but not where I live, so I subscribed to it. ( I do have a warning though: In Europe it is customary that a subscription is automatically renewed, if you do not cancel it at least 6 weeks in advance…)

They have a great website and you can even browse through the issues on-line. The patterns are mostly easy to sew and the clothes have very creative adornments. The style is very fresh and the clothes have a good fit. The pattern come in many sizes so you can adjust things easily, if you need to.

I made this little jacket last year for a 1year old girl. I used a pattern from issue 1/2006. I used a wool fabric, that I fulled and dyed. I especially like how the roses are constructed. They are just circles, folded in half and sewn together in a cluster. I even embroidered veins on the leafs. Unfortunately I can’t show you more pictures, because the jacket was a gift and this is the only picture I have.

