Happy Thanksgiving!

First of all I have to tell you, that I found a baby for my extra pumpkin hat. The little fellow is 10 weeks old and looked very cute in it. This made his Mom very happy ( me too).

We are having our Turkey tomorrow and the dessert is baking in the oven as I type. This year we are having an apple pie and a quince apple pie.

I would say, that out of all my fruit trees and berry shrubs, the quinces were the only ones, that performed well this year. Which is quite ironic considering, that I never know quite what to do with them.

Anyway, when I found a recipe for a quince apple pie I decided to have a go at it. It is basically the same as regular apple pie, except that you cook the quinces ( in white wine and water) until they have about the same consistency as raw apples. ( I aimed and missed, mine turned completely mushy.) Well, it should still taste good I hope.

I have also tried to make quince jelly, but I never got enough juice out of them. I have read somewhere, that I have the wrong kind of quince for jelly, but I will try again this fall and cook them longer. 

There is one thing I have made with my quinces, that turned out rather well: quince sauce pie.  I made the quince sauce, just like you would make apple sauce. You can even add some apples.  For one pie filling I would guess, you need about 3 to 4 cups of sauce. Then add 2 to 3 Tbsp of sugar mixed with 1/4 cup of corn starch or 1 package of Dr. Oetker Vanilla Pudding. Pour it onto a pie crust, cover it with more pie dough and cook at 350F for about 1 hour.

