Pumpkin Hat – A Pattern of Sorts

I have been asked, how I made the Pumpkin Hats. I used a cotton acrylic blend (50/50) sport weight held double. For sizing I used a chart from here. I aimed for a 17 1/2 inches (44cm) head circumference. I cast on that many stitches accordingly minus 5 (about 1 inch worth) and knitted stockinette in the round until I had a nicely rolled brim.   Then I increased 5 stitches evenly  and ended up with a number of stitches dividable by 11. So I started a pattern of knit 10, purl 1 all around and knit until the hat was  about 5 1/2 inches (14cm) high.

I decreased by ssk (or skp) at the beginning of every segment between the purl stitches and k2tog at the end of every segment. I followed the decrease rounds by knitting 3 rows straight.

When every segment was only 3 stitches wide I changed to the green yarn and decreased every other round with k2tog until I had 4 or 5 stitches left. ( The first round is a *k2tog, k1* repeat, the following are k2tog only.)

I put these on one DPN and continued to knit these into an I-cord for about 1 inch (2.5 cm). I cut the yarn and threaded the tail through the 4 (or 5 )stitches, pulled them tight and I was done! (Well, except for weaving in the ends, of course.)

