Felt Heart Garland

Yesterday I made this garland with felt hearts for my fireplace. I wanted to decorate it a bit, but I will hold off with the Christmas decorations until December.

 I really like the combination of red, white and black. I have also added some fat red candles on the mantle piece. Now I am looking for those pretty small pine cones, that I keep in a box in the crawl space. Maybe I will find them this weekend….

For the hearts I made a fabric sandwich with two pieces of red felt and a thick polyester batting in the middle. I cut a template out of card stock and sewed around this. After that I cut them out and threaded them onto cotton yarn.

This very lazy method results in hearts where you can see the white batting in the seams. But I don’t mind and I really like how puffy they are.

