Baby Mittens

Do you remember the baby I found for my extra Pumpkin Hat ? As it turns out the same baby is in need of some mittens!

I used some leftover yarn in fingering weight from the socks that I knit for my oldest daughter. I have dyed the yarn striped, but I knit these mittens with two strands using the beginning and the end of the skein at random points of the repeat. I like this effect: somewhat stripy and tweedy!

I used a pattern from an old Debbie Bliss book and changed a few things and was quite surprised, that they ended up looking exactly like the ones Alison made for her daughter. She used a pattern from this book.

The snowflake is a simple cross-stitch design, that I added using just one strand of white yarn.  

Yesterday I tried one mitten on and guess what, the little guy liked it so much, that he cried, when I took it off! ( Ok, maybe that was just because he was fed up with me, but you never know with babies, right?)

One thought on “Baby Mittens

Comments are closed.