Seeing Things

As I stood next to my stove this morning I saw something move out of the corner of my eyes. When I turned around I watched a lonely white feather floating leisurely towards my counter top. Ugh!

This apparition is a unfriendly reminder of the feather boas that I had to sew around the edges of the three capes’ hoods. It was messy! A day later I still felt something tickle in my nose and wondered if it was a tiny white feather! The feather boa had to be attached by hand and in order to get the needle out of the boa minus the feathers I had to blow them out of the way. Have you ever had to blow on your sewing?

Because of all that messy work I decided on Thursday to pour all my available time into finishing those capes. I was done on Friday at midnight: Yeah!

 On Saturday morning I vacuumed (!) the capes  and put them into a zippered vinyl case, the likes you get when buying a duvet. I briefly considered to label it with “Caution! Freely Floating Feathers!”, but then I thought that anyone who can put on a play with hordes of elementary students could probably withstand a few feathers.

The rest of the day I spent with my son’s birthday party, which was a big success, but quite exhausting. I took Sunday off to rest, well, except for the 2 1/2 hours Christmas baking marathon, about which I will tell you more next time….

