Flower Beanie

I have made this little hat for my youngest daughter. I have dyed the yarn following her wishes out of Louet’s Gems Merino in sport weight.
The pattern is a k2, p2 rib that is offset by one stitch every row. My daughter likes the hat very much especially the flower.

For the flower I basically crocheted a flat disk using slip stitches, then added the outer petals using double crochet stitches. After that I slip-stitched my way to the inside and added more petals using half double crochet stitches.

The pretty little button I found in my stash ( Yes, I have a button stash and no, I have it under control  now, thanks!)

I made up the shaping of the hat as I went along. I prefer to decrease slowly in order to avoid gathered fabric on the top. So I did 3 plain rows between every decrease row.

Now my oldest daughter would like a hat as well, but in blue.  So many ideas, so little time….

