Pizza – the Eternal Quest

As a teenager when I was babysitting my little brothers  I would often make myself pizza when they were asleep. Knowing this my best friend gifted me with a pizza cookbook on my 16th birthday.

I took it out the other day and tried yet another version. It was very delicious, even though the combination of  ingredients seems a bit unusual. 

Sardinian Onion Pizza

For one large pizza cut 2 to 3 sweet onions in thin slices and fry with olive oil and 3 Tbsp milk until the onions are soft. Add salt, pepper and a dash of sugar. Let the onions cool.

Spread the onions on the pizza dough and top with 4 to 5 cubed tomatoes, 8 Anchovies, 12 halved black olives and 6 sliced garlic cloves. Season with dried oregano and add 2 – 3 Tbsp ground Parmesan cheese. Drizzle with olive oil.

Bake at the oven’s highest setting for about 10 to 15 minutes.  

