There Was No Warning

I have been in love with books ever since I could read my first one. As a child I loved to wake up before everyone else and have time to read. There was even a time, when I was so engrossed in my book while on a bus, that I failed to notice the sharp turn coming up and consequently fell off my seat and onto the floor. I hurt very much – especially my pride.

Now that I have very little time to read I have turned to audio-books. But there is a problem. Imagine me doing some ironing, my husband coming in and hearing:”He gribbed….hard. She …  while…softly…almost unbearable… shoved and … together…” You get the idea.

Why is it, that there are warnings on every other media I can think of, but not on books or audio-books?  I am not a prude, but I guess I would like to know, what I am in for, so I do not have to stand there, iron in hand, blushing fiercely and trying to explain, that I got the book at the library and not behind a curtained off area labelled “Adult”.

 Off my soapbox now…

