A Miracle – It Is Done!

This is what I have called the Endless Wrap. I started this in August last year as my vacation project. When I realized how much knitting I still had to do afterwards I set it aside for a while and worked on it only occasionally. I was very surprised that I had enough length when I draped it around my dress form the other day. At the end I did not measure it, but I know, that I did not knit it to the required length of about 2,60m.

Because I wanted flat seems, I whip-stitched the edges together without overlapping them. It was surprisingly easy to match up all the edges. I just draped the shawl in my lap, formed the knot and flipped it over. I sewed the ends together first and secured the middle of the back with a safety pin. Then I seemed the edges together starting in the middle of the back going forward.

When I started this project I did not expect much. The yarn I used is not as drapey as the one used in the book and I wondered how a large knot on my chest would look…

Surprisingly the wrap does look very nice. Wearing it makes you feel like somebody is giving you a hug and I really like how the lines flow. I is definitely an unusual piece.

Specs:

Pattern: Twisty Turns by Norah Gaughan from Wrap Style

Yarn: 4 skeins of Briggs & Little Anniversary Twist

2 thoughts on “A Miracle – It Is Done!

  1. missharleyquinn says:

    Oh my gosh! That is so beautiful, congrats on finishing it. 🙂 Looking at it, I don’t really understand how it does what it does, its sort of an optical illusion, which makes it all the more brilliant.

  2. sunnysideellen says:

    Thank you! It is actually quite easy. First you knit a very loooong scarf. Imagine laying it down in a figure eight with the ends sewn together. Then stack the two loops on top of each other and sew them together at the edges. Voilà!

Comments are closed.