Crossing the Line

People say that you cross a line when you have more than 2 cats, especially if you are a single women. Last week I think we crossed a different line, when I bought a table loom. We now have 2 sewing machines, 1 serger, a spinning wheel ( I do not own it, but it’s here), a yarn stash, a fabric stash, a button stash, yarn dyeing equipment and all kinds of fibre related tools and now a loom. I think the only thing missing at this point is a sheep in the backyard ( or maybe an angora rabbit?)

As I have mentioned before my 10 y/o daughter has fallen in love with weaving. ( Maybe it has something to do with the fact, that this is the one thing I do not do?) I bought her a small loom last year and they also did some weaving in school. She told me the other day, that she would like a larger loom. She had some birthday money left so I started searching.

I looked at new looms and used looms on E-bay and Craigslist. I found out quickly, that looms are not cheap and it was hard for me to figure out what she needs. In the end I called someone who had listed a table loom on Craigslist at a very reasonable price. When I saw it I could not believe how big it was. I thought table loom meant portable, but I was wrong. The loom has the size of a child’s desk. It comes with its own stand. The weaving width is 32 inches and it has 4 shafts. It is made out of pine, is about 40 years old and from Norway. It is beautiful.

I just stood there for a while and stared at it. Then I asked every question I could think of, trying to find out if we could make it work. The owner of the loom was very patient and finally found a book for us as well. It is Learning to Weave by Deborah Chandler and I think it is great.

Later at home I took a crash course in weaving, figured out how to warp the loom for thicker yarn and off she went. ( She likes this style of weaving: thinner yarn for the warp and thicker yarn in the weft.) She is now weaving her second scarf, this time in a twill pattern and is absolutely in love with her new loom. I am astonished how fast she is and how quickly she figured out the pattern.

Do you think I can borrow it some time? I have already subscribed to Weavecast.

6 thoughts on “Crossing the Line

  1. Linnea says:

    That looks like so much fun. It would be a nice activity to share with your daughter. My Swedish mormor used to weave. She had a loom that filled the whole room, it was so big. She was pretty amazing. I don’t know how she made the things she did. I feel very lucky that I have some of her tablecloths and woven blankets. Take care & have a great night!
    xox,
    Linnea

  2. sunnysideellen says:

    Thank you! Yes, we share: I do the work and she gets to do the fun part ; )
    No, she does help warp the loom, but I have not been allowed to weave anything yet…

  3. soph says:

    that’s dedication only a mum could have – to do all the warping and none of the weaving 🙂

    i came to weaving through my daughter too, although she’s only 5, so i’m the one with the table loom (for the moment!). your daughter’s work is beautiful.

  4. sunnysideellen says:

    Soph, I am so tempted to weave a bit while she is at school, but I have been good so far ; )
    I think, she wants to claim weaving as her craft in this house, which I can understand.

Comments are closed.