Munchings and Crunchings

The one crop that did really well this year are my beloved apples! They grow in our front yard and we know that it is time to harvest them when we catch a squirrel stealing one. This year I not only found a completely ( except for the core) eaten apple still hanging on the tree ( It looked somewhat comical), but  my husband caught a newspaper carrier climbing over the shrubs and taking an apple! Which is proof that my apples are irresistible and apparently better than store bought ; )

 

I have made apple pie, apple cake and these:

 

I LOVE Caramel Apples. I used the recipe for soft caramels from here. ( Tip: Half the recipe. It is plenty) I was very surprised how long it took for the caramel to reach its final temperature. I would guess you need about 1 hour from start to finish.

I did not have any light corn syrup, but a golden one so that my caramel is a bit darker. The sticks are from Michael’s.

Hmmm, they were delicious. I want more!

No, I did not eat them all by myself. I shared… generously … Oh, alright there was a little bit of fighting!

One thought on “Munchings and Crunchings

Comments are closed.