the 50/50 rye bread recipe

As you probably all know I am quite adventurous when it comes to making things. Most often I interpret instructions as mere guidelines.

So of course I felt somewhat challenged when reading in my 5 Minute Bread book that you cannot bake a bread with a high rye content using their recipe. Then I thought about the changes I have made to their master recipe and gave it a try.

This is what came out of the oven:

rye bread

When I sliced it up I was amazed to see a wonderful light crumb and it tasted delicious. Here is the recipe:

3 cups lukewarm water

1 1/2 tsp (!) granulated yeast

1 Tbsp molasses

1 Tbsp salt

2 tsp caraway seeds

3 cups dark rye flour

3 cups bread flour

Using a stand mixer knead for 3 minutes on speed 1 and another 3 minutes on speed 2. The dough is very sticky and won’t come together in a ball due to the low gluten content. It would be very difficult and messy to knead by hand.

Let rise as usual for 2 hours and then store in the fridge. I used the dough after 2 or 3 days in the fridge. ( I recommend waiting at least a day before baking)

For the loaf I used about half of the dough and let it rise in a bread basket. That is where those pretty lines come from. (You can find them here in Vancouver.)

Bake at 450F for about 40 minutes on a baking stone and hot water added.

