Indulgences

Have you ever had a taste of something and you had to close your eyes, inhaling deeply, taking a brief vacation to a sunny island? This happened to me a few days ago when I had a Caramel Macchiato.

Always up for a challenge I wanted to figure out how to make one at home. This is what I did:

Caramel Macchiato

Add 1 to 2 Tbsp Caramel-Vanilla Syrup ( recipe below) to your milk and steam it. Make a shot of Espresso (or two) and add the milk, top with foam. Drizzle with Caramel Sauce.

Caramel-Vanilla Syrup:

Melt 1 cup of sugar in a saucepan until golden brown. Add one cup of boiling water. Stir until all the sugar is melted. Let it cool a bit and add 1 tsp of vanilla. ( You can also add a split vanilla bean to the hot syrup.)

Caramel Sauce:

½ cup white sugar

½ cup brown sugar

½ cup heavy cream

¼ cup butter

Stir all the ingredients in a saucepan, boil for 3 minutes.

Enjoy!

For my kids I made one without the Espresso and now I am thinking of all the different syrups you could add. And of course, there is the iced version. ( It does not look like we need the iced version any time soon, though.)

5 thoughts on “Indulgences

Comments are closed.