Moebius Scarf

I saw Cat Bordhi’s videos on Youtube and decided to knit a Moebius Scarf with my handspun yarn.

Moebius Scarf

The yarn is more or less worsted weight and it took 4oz. Here is how I did it:

Cast on 80sts ( Instructions are here) and knit first row as on the video, place marker

Row 2: *yarn-over, knit 2 together through the back loop* repeat until end of row

Row 3: purl all stitches

Repeat these two rows until you have yarn left for about four rows, ending with row 2. Use a matching crochet hook, pick the last knitted stitch  and insert crochet hook.

Last row: *chain 3, slip-stitch around yarn-over loop, chain 3, slip-stitch into following knitted stitch* repeat until end of row, pull yarn through the last loop, darn in ends

Moebius close-upThis post is part of Fiber Arts Friday. Thank you for inviting me!

20 thoughts on “Moebius Scarf

  1. Outback girl says:

    I think I need to learn to knit – or find a knitter friend.
    This is lovely – well done.
    Bye
    A

  2. Ann says:

    What a pretty Mobius!

    Two questions if you don’t mind. What size needle did you use, and did you use a 47″ or a shorter one.

    I am pulling out a skein of my handspun this afternoon and plan to sit outside in the sunshine making one. Thanks for sharing.

  3. dawnmarie57 says:

    Hi sunnysideellen,
    I was very intrigued by the mobieus scarf and love your design. I started knitting it but realized I am confused as to the cast off. Am I to cast off the knitting needles before inserting the crochet hook to add the last detail?
    Thanks!

    • sunnysideellen says:

      Hi dawnmarie,

      basically you don’t cast off, but crochet into the knitted stitches while they are still on the knitting needle. This makes the scarf more stretchy.
      Have fun!

      Ellen

Comments are closed.