I Love Stripes

Striped Sweater

When I was looking for something to knit on our vacation I found a picture of a cheerfully striped sleeveless sweater on Ravelry. I thought it was the perfect vacation project: an easy knit and colourful.

The yarn I chose was Louet Gems worsted weight and I dyed it as a transitional yarn in two giant skeins: one in dark colours and one in light colours. I decided the stripes two rows wide and alternate between the dark and the light yarn. To ensure a good fit I decided to make my own pattern. For that I went to my dress form and took measurements on it, starting from the length of the sweater to where the waist would be, the armholes and neck opening. I wanted a somewhat loose fit and added 2 inches of ease.

When I had knitted about 8 inches I tried the sweater on and it was much too wide. I had knitted it exactly to my measurements, but the fabric stretched so much, that it became too large. So I started over with zero ease.

The hem is knit in garter stitch. The collar is 9 inches long and knit in stockinette, because I like how it drapes. To tidy up the armholes I crocheted one row single crochet and added a second row in slip-stitch to mimic a knitted stitch.

I like my new sweater a lot. It fits exactly the way I wanted it to and adds some colour to my wardrobe. It took 460g ( just over 1 pound)/ 800 yards of yarn and I knit it on 4.5mm needles.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

4 thoughts on “I Love Stripes

Comments are closed.