Multidirectional

When I still had only my borrowed spinning wheel I spun 4 oz of superwash Merino Top into a thick and thin singles yarn. ( What else can a beginner spin?) I did well on the twist especially after reading this article about twist angles. In the meantime I might have learned how to avoid spinning the thin, thin parts ( if you don’t want them that is).

Apparently when I spin yarn I have to knit it up immediately, so I was looking for a project and found this scarf pattern on Ravelry. ( Instructions can be found here)

I partnered my handspun with undyed Riverstone yarn from Louet and after all the knitting was done I added little triangles in crochet as a border*.

It took about 100g ( 3 1/2 oz) each of the two yarns. I knit it on 4.5mm needles and the scarf is 5 1/2 inches ( 14cm) wide and just under 2 yards (1,75m) long.

It was a fun knit, the scarf looks pretty and my daughter wants it – a successful project.

*I made it up, it was something like this: (chain 3, turn, single crochet 1 into the chain and single crochet 1 into the scarf, turn, slip stitch one into the chain and 1 into the scarf) repeat

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

