The Ups and Downs of Life

I have had a lot of fun lately working on new projects and playing with my spinning wheel. Unfortunately within a span of 2 weeks my three kids have been sick and I have been so exhausted that I have managed just what had to be done. Well, it is over now and I am trying to get back.

With the leftover yarn from my striped sweater I made a hat for my niece. I used this stitch pattern, but I knit the hat top down and switched randomly between the lighter and darker yarn. I knit it on 4mm needles to make the stitches denser. I hope she likes it!

Then I dyed a merino/silk top and spun it into a 2-ply aran weight yarn. It amazes me how much the yarn puffs up after it is plied and washed. It looked much thinner on the bobbin. The reason for this of course is, that the yarn on the bobbin is under tension. Also I find it difficult to know how much fiber to pull out to make the yarn the thickness I want it to be.

To help me figure this out I have started a spinning journal where I keep samples of my handspun yarn and write down how I made it. Also I think it would help if I compare my singles to commercial yarn so I can see the difference in thickness.  The other surprise is that while I spin the yarn I think it is fairly even and in the end it isn’t. I feel like an adventurer exploring a new country and have a lot of fun doing so. I was very proud when I managed to ply my new yarn evenly and it came out balanced!

Handspun Top

I hope you enjoy whatever you are doing!

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

