Handspun Coopworth

This is a Coopworth roving that I have dyed and spun recently. As a beginner I start each project with the question what I want to learn or improve on. This time I wanted to make a single ply yarn with a low twist and make it fairly even using the long draw method.

So far I have most often worked with top, where all the fibres have been combed and are parallel. In the roving the fibres go in all directions and you can see in the finished yarn, that it has a bit of a halo. As far as my plans went I did quite well with the low twist. When I took the yarn out after setting the twist it was nearly balanced, but as you can see it is not even, not by a long shot. ( I know it is so obvious now, but when the yarn is on the bobbin under tension it looks much more even.  )

I liked the long draw, but I could not figure out what to do when too much fibre was pulled out. ( The long draw is recommended for working with rolags, maybe that is the reason.) A friend suggested spinning from the fold and I’ll try that next time.

Looking at the yarn I have to say I like it a lot. It is about 140 yards and I don’t know yet what I am going to do with it. I am already on the next project…

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

4 thoughts on “Handspun Coopworth

  1. peahen says:

    The colours really are lovely. I’m interested in projects using singles, and I’d love to see what this looks like knitted up. Keep us posted! Shiela

Comments are closed.