Try this bread toasted!


I had this delicious bread the other day and wondered if I might be able to recreate it. I tried it last night and it turned out great!  I do like the flavour of Anise  seeds, probably because it reminds me of Christmas baking, enjoyed only once a year.

Cranberry Orange Bread with Anise

Ingredients for 1 loaf

( If I make only one loaf I like to prepare the dough in the bread machine, then transfer it to a regular baking pan and bake it in the oven for better flavour.)

1 cup water
1 1/2 tsp yeast
1/2 cup milk
2 Tbsp sugar
1 1/2 tsp salt
4 cups flour
2 Tbsp butter
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup candied orange peel, cut in little squares
1/2 tsp anise seeds, ground in a mortar

Bake at 360F for about 40 minutes, brush top with butter while still hot

You can find a lot of information on how to bake bread on the Baker’s Banter blog.

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

3 thoughts on “Try this bread toasted!

Comments are closed.