Who Knew: Sausage Patties

When I go to the gym I usually can’t stand it when they show food on TV. I just don’t want to feel hungry when I work out. But the other day this caught my attention: someone was making sausage patties for a brunch.

Well, maybe you all make sausage patties regularly but I had never heard of such a thing. I knew right away this was something I wanted to try. First of my family likes sausages, but they have to be just right. We are often disappointed with what we can get here: don’t like the taste, there are tough bits in there (gross), they have lots of fat and you often don’t know what is in them.

So I bought ground pork, researched the spices that are used in German sausages (Bratwurst) and went to work. I was quite surprised which spices are used. The patties tasted great and I want to make them again. ( Also nobody asked what sausage casings are made of ; )

Ingredients:

1 1/2 pounds of ground pork
3/4 tsp ground mace
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp ground cardamom
1/2 tsp grated lemon rind
1 tsp ground black pepper
1/2 tsp ground white pepper
1 1/2 tsp salt

Mix all the ingredients together, shape into 6 to 8 patties and let them rest in the fridge for at least 1/2 hour. On TV they recommended to shape the patties a little bit thicker in the middle since ground pork shrinks so much when it cooks. Fry the patties in a pan on medium to high heat for about 10 to 12 minutes on one side and then for about 8-10 on the other.

You can add a sliced onion to the frying pan. Cut a crusty bun almost in half, fill it with a sausage patty, add mustard and onions. Enjoy with a salad!

2 thoughts on “Who Knew: Sausage Patties

Comments are closed.