New Socks With New Yarn

These are the socks for my nephew which I have just finished and maybe they will get to Germany in time ( if I am very lucky). The yarn I have used for these is a new Superwash Merino and Nylon blend that I have purchased for my Etsy store. Usually wool-nylon blends are quite scratchy, but this yarn is nice. It is very smoothly spun and a bit thinner than the Louet Gems.

For the colour I asked my kids for inspiration and my son suggested green and blue. He showed me a blue cheese wrapper and a pear and said I should use these colours. I had to laugh when I was able to match them exactly.

The socks are knit with my standard pattern. I used the same tubular cast-on as for the Heart Socks. I knit an extra long leg, so that they can be worn well with rainboots. I hope my nephew is going to like them.

He will certainly be astonished about the way I have mailed them. In Canada shipping is quite reasonable and fast if your package is not higher than 2cm ( about 3/4 inch). To make sure the socks would stay flat and not slide around I stitched them onto a sheet of card stock. I think doll clothes are sometimes packaged like that.

I have several more ideas about handmade Christmas gifts, but I think I am almost out of time. Are you ready for Christmas?

