Valentine’s Gift

Valentine's Ring

Each year when Valentine’s day nears my kids have high expectations. I know they are not thinking of their Mom, but still I thought  could surprise them with a little gift. For my daughters I made these rings.

The rings are knitted out of silk lace yarn and the hearts are needle-felted and then sewn onto the ring. It took very little time to make them and my girls like them very much.

Here is how I made them:

Ring base:

Silk lace yarn ( I used my Swiss Silk) , 2 mm DPNs

Cast on loosely 18 (small) or 21 (medium) stitches using long-tail cast on. Distribute the stitches on 3 DPNs. Knit 6 rows in stockinette, cast off. Let the fabric roll inwards.

I needle-felted the hearts free-style with several shades of red and orange wool fibers. I added the fibers in several layers because I wanted the hearts to be very plump. You can find basic instructions  for needle-felting hearts on this blog.

Heart Ring

1 Response to “Valentine’s Gift”


  1. 1 dianne faw February 17, 2013 at 7:25 pm

    Love the needle felted heart rings. Thanks for the link back.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 412 other followers