Rainbow Socks

Rainbow Socks

I want to show you my new rainbow socks, modeled here by my daughter. I have had so much fun knitting these socks! I don’t quite remember where I had the idea to dye a rainbow yarn, but the inspiration for the construction came from several places.

First of all they are knit with several mini-skeins. I was inspired by the Blender Socks on Ravelry. The special method is that you change skeins gradually. You start with the new skein for a row, then knit from the previous skein and change again until you finally drop the old yarn. When you are done knitting you have several ends to darn in, but it was not too bad.

These socks are knit toe-up to make sure that I would have enough “room” for all the colours of the rainbow. I used a new-to-me method to cast on, that is very easy to do. I love it! You can see it in a video here.

The heel is the Smooth Tomato Heel by Cat Bordhi. She explains it in her video here. Again, I am very happy with this heel. It is very easy to do and most importantly I love the way it fits my foot. ( The socks are a bit too large for my daughter.)

Smooth Tomato Heel

To cast-off I used the sewn bind-off by Elizabeth Zimmerman. You can find very good instructions on Knitty (scroll down.) The bind-off is very stretchy and well worth the effort.

If you like to make your own rainbow socks you can find the yarn in my Etsy shop. Happy knitting!

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 412 other followers