Rhubarb Compote

Rhubarb

When I was in second grade I lived with my grandparents for a year. It was a wonderful time and there are many memories I cherish. One day I went on a school trip and my Grandma wrapped my sandwich in a rhubarb leaf claiming it would keep it cold. I remember I was intrigued and embarrassed at the same time.

I never found out if that was something that people did in the good old days or if she just ran out of a container and had a rhubarb leaf lying around. You could say she was way ahead of her time with her eco-friendly packaging. Anyway, whenever I see those big leaves it makes me smile.

As it happens there are many of these big leaves in my garden right now and I decided to make a rhubarb compote. This is a good old-fashioned dessert, that charms with flavour more than looks.

I found this recipe called Norwegian Rhubarb Pudding and it turned out great. For me the sweetness is just right. The compote still has a tart flavour, but it is sweet enough to enjoy it.

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cup water

3/4 cup sugar + 2 Tbsp Vanilla Sugar

1 1/2 pounds fresh rhubarb, peeled and sliced

1/4 cup cold water

3 Tbsp corn starch

Bring the water and the sugars to a boil, add the rhubarb and cook it for about 10 minutes until the rhubarb falls apart. Dissolve the starch in the water, add it to the rhubarb. Bring it to a boil, stirring constantly and let it cook for another minute. Pour it into a serving bowl and let it cool. Serve with whipping cream or milk drizzled over it.

If you think the compote is pretty boring as is, then check out this website where you can find many ideas how to add it to your favourite desserts.

2 thoughts on “Rhubarb Compote

Comments are closed.