Mushroom Cake

© Tim

© Tim

My son is a passionate photographer. He has a great eye for details that others miss. I love his work. Last fall he developed a passion for photographing mushrooms. It rains so much here that we get a great selection of them. As his birthday came up he asked me for a mushroom cake.

Many years ago I had decorated a cake with meringue mushrooms. I was surprised he even remembered. I could not even remember how I had made them. After some research I settled on this recipe from the Food Network.

Meringue Mashrooms

The cake is a vanilla hazelnut cake with a banana and vanilla butter-cream filling covered in chocolate. It was delicious.

Mushroom Cake

2 thoughts on “Mushroom Cake

  1. Patti_is_knittinginflashes says:

    Lovely! I make meringue cookies(?) that my mom called “forgotten cookies”. She would make them in the evening and as soon as they went into the oven, she would turn it off. The cookies stayed there undisturbed till the next morning hence forgetting them.
    Your mushroom look so real!

Comments are closed.