Baby Outfit

A friend of mine is having a baby and I wanted to make something special for her. It has been a long time since I made something for a baby and I had a lot of fun looking for different patterns on Ravelry. I picked this pattern, because it is easy to put on. There are no buttons in the way when the baby is lying on his or her tummy. I like that it has no collar and it is a pretty design for a boy.

I took so long to make up my mind, that I almost ran out of time. The baby is due in 2 weeks. I knit fast, but I don’t have much time for it, so I decided to make it my top priority. After my surgery almost 4 years ago I still have difficulties with my arm especially when knitting for more than half an hour, but when I knit in a chair with an armrest it is much better. While I knit I watched season 4 of Downton Abbey and after that The Paradise on Netflix. I quite enjoyed it.

The yarn is a DK weight 100% Superwash Merino that I have dyed in a deep indigo blue. The intarsia pattern is a Japenese quilt pattern called “Parent and Child”, so I wanted the yarn to have the colour of traditionally dyed indigo fabric. The yarn knit up beautifully and is very soft. It actually feels like cotton.

The cardigan would have looked nice with square white buttons, but I think round buttons are easier to fasten on a squirming baby. There is also a matching hat and booties.

Baby HatThe pattern is from OGE Knitwear designs and is called Baby Kimono Top. You can find it on Ravelry.

