Knit Log Cabin Square

How to Knit a Log Cabin Blanket

Knit Log Cabin Square
I have always had a weakness for Log Cabin Quilts. In fact I have sewed several of them. I like the simplicity of the pattern that leaves so much room for playing with colour.

Over the years I have also debated knitting a blanket, but I thought I’d never have the patience to finish it. Then this spring when I realized my marriage was over I needed something that would occupy my hands without it being too complicated. The problem at the times was that I wanted things to happen, but they didn’t, at least not at a pace I liked. It was really hard. In the end it took almost 4 months until we were able to move out.

During that time I knitted my blanket squares. It was the right medicine. I did not mind the repetitiveness of the project or that my goal of knitting 56 squares seemed rather difficult to achieve. I liked that I could take it anywhere, start and stop anytime, and slowly but surely I made progress.

I started out with single skeins of handspun yarns, of which I had quite a few. When these ran out I decided to continue with Noro Kureyon, because I thought they were a good match with my handspun yarn. It turns out that one skein of Kureyon makes exactly 2 squares. This is how I knit them:

1. Cast on 11 stitches using long tail cast-on and knit in garter stitch until you have 11 ridges on the right side, ending with a wrong side row. Cast off all stitches until there is only one left. ( If you click on the photos, you can make them larger.)

2. Work your way counter-clockwise and pick up 10 stitches on the left side of the square. Pick up the stitches from in between the ridges.

IMG_0232

IMG_0233

3. Knit in garter stitch until you have again 11 ridges. Cast off all stitches except the last one. Pick up 21 stitches down the left edge of the rectangle. Pick up the first 10 stitches from between the ridges and the rest of the stitches from the loop of the cast-on edge.

4. Keep on knitting in garter stitch until you again have 11 ridges. Cast off the stitches except the last one.

5. Pick up 21 stitches on the left edge of the square and knit in garter stitch until you have 11 ridges again.

6. Cast off all the stitches except the last one and pick up 32 stitches down the left side of the rectangle.

IMG_0238

7. Knit in garter stitch until you have 11 ridges. Cast off all stitches. Finished!

Coming soon: How to put it all together.

